Distance education decision from YÖK to 7 universities: Which departments will be online?


As we enter the second week of September, the question of how education will be at universities has come to the fore. YÖK announced that distance education decisions may be taken in some departments of 7 universities. So, which universities and which departments will continue online education? Here is the statement and details made by YÖK...

Distance Education Opportunity in Universities Affected by the Earthquake

YÖK discussed the education and training processes at universities in Adıyaman, Hatay, Kahramanmaraş and Malatya provinces due to the earthquakes that occurred in Kahramanmaraş on February 6, 2023. YÖK made some decisions for the 2023-2024 academic year, taking into account the current physical conditions of the universities in these provinces, the housing opportunities in the city and the grievances of the students.

According to the decisions taken by YÖK, the senates of the universities in these provinces will be able to decide which programs and classes will be given face-to-face education and which programs and classes will be distance education in the associate and undergraduate programs within their faculties and colleges. Likewise, the senates will decide whether face-to-face and/or distance education will be provided on the basis of department/program in graduate programs within the institutes.


Special Student Rights Recognized

Another decision taken by YÖK was for students who were decided to be educated through distance education and who did not apply to receive education as a special student at another university for the semester(s), but who had to take the Teaching Practice course face to face during the education period.

Students in this situation will be able to continue the Teaching Practice course at the universities in the provinces where they currently reside, if they wish, or they will be able to apply for a special studentship just for this course. Universities will appoint a responsible unit to coordinate the work and transactions of students in this situation.


Which Universities Will Be Online?

In line with the decisions taken by YÖK, distance education decisions can be made in some departments of 7 universities in Adıyaman, Hatay, Kahramanmaraş and Malatya provinces. These universities are:

  • Adiyaman University
  • Hatay Mustafa Kemal University
  • Hatay Islamic Science and Technology University
  • Kahramanmaras Sutcu Imam University
  • Kahramanmaraş İstiklal University
  • Malatya Turgut Ozal University
  • Malatya Inonu University


Which departments of these universities will be online will be determined according to the decisions of the universities' senates. Students will be able to follow the information that will be announced on the universities' official websites and social media accounts.